Tuesday, 6 December 2022, 8:17

Taach FM

Tugetab Kalenjin

Kenya Kwanza Nominates David Sankok, Hassan Omar To EALA

The Kenya Kwanza Alliance Coalition has unveiled the list of nominees to be elected as members of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

A number of prominent leaders appeared in the 15-nominee list who will be awaiting a selection by voting by members of the National Assembly and Senate. 

Among the nominees are former nominated senator David Sankok who hung his political boots in July 2022 and Hassan Omar who unsuccessfully vied for the Mombasa governor position.

Kenya Kwanza also recommended Salim Busidy, Yasser Bajaber, Lilian Tomitom, Cyprian Iringo, Jonas Kuko, Abdikadir Aden and Falhadha Iman to EALA positions.

Others include Fredrick Charles, Joel Nyambane, Godfrey Karobia, Zipporah Kering, and Rebecca Lowoiya.

Meanwhile, the Azimio la Umoja coalition has unveiled its list containing six candidates.

Mombasa politician Suleiman Shahbal, Mohammed Diriye, Timothy Bosire, Beatrice Askul, and Justus Kizito.

The two camps are contesting for only 9 slots available for Kenya’s delegation at the EALA.

MPs will vote through a secret ballot and announce the winners with the most votes.

The search for new EALA members from the Kenyan delegation kicked off on October 26, as the current members of the assembly are set to exit on December 17, 2022.

Members hold office for five a 5-year term and are eligible for re-election for a further period of five years. 

EALA is an independent legislative arm of EAC, established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the establishment of the East African Community.

The assembly plays a critical role in the furtherance of the EAC objectives.